P1050055_edited.jpg

Reviews

Craigellie is a fantastic holiday cottage — or rather holiday castle ... full of Grandeur, from the large reception room, sweeping turret staircase to bed linen, throws and crockery ... this holiday accommodation makes for a luxurious getaway! Perthshire is a great location, we easily made day trips to Scone Palace, Perth city centre, Dundee as well as the local attractions. The Den of Alyth was the perfect walk for our dog each morning — and the hill of Alyth was a lovely evening walk. 

Esther, October 2020

_DSC0004.jpeg

We had the most amazing holiday. Liz and Charles were the perfect hosts. ... We would return in a heart beat! 5 star!

Shirley, October 2020

Liz and family were very helpful and made us very welcome. We only stayed 3 nights but enjoyed the comfort of the cottage, sitting by the fire. Walking by the river with our dog was really nice. We would recommend this cottage to others wanting a relaxing break.

​Colin & Michele, October 2020

Great place to stay would definitely go back

MH, September 2020

Excellent place to stay. Lovely house and gardens. Very welcoming

Tomas, September 2020

"Perthshire is a great location, we easily made day trips to Scone Palace, Perth city centre, Dundee as well as the local attractions"

Really lovely cottage. Craigellie has been thoughtfully renovated and very well equipped by the owners. The accommodation is spacious and spotlessly clean and is in a great location for exploring the Cairngorms. The local area has plenty of options for both walking and cycling and perfect for people with dogs - our dog loved exploring the Den of Alyth on her morning walks. We would absolutely book again in the future.

Tim, September 2020

Craigellie House is in a beautiful location and the conversion part for guests is spot on, spacious, elegant and with everything needed for a relaxing stay. We loved the peace and quiet it's so calm which is what we all need at times in such a busy world. Liz & Charles are friendly excellent hosts.

John & Wendy, September 2020

This was our second stay at Craigellie in 2020 and we had a wonderful, relaxing time. Our hosts yet again couldn't do enough for us ... you honestly cannot ask for more. Alyth itself is a very pretty little town ... We enjoyed visiting nearby locations - Reekie Lin waterfall and Killiekrankie to name but two and had some lovely walks without having to go miles to find them. Craigellie ... remains the best we've seen. We can't recommend highly enough!

Jeremy & Elaine, August 2020

IMG_3186.jpeg

"We would return in a heart beat! 5 star!"

P1070042.JPG

We as a family were made to feel so welcome. The cottage itself is immaculate and is in a beautiful setting and perfect for exploring the surrounding area. By car we drove through the Cairngorms ... a sight to see. Scotland is certainly a beautiful place and our hosts at Craigellie really made our stay exceed all our expectations. 

Sean, August 2020

We had a lovely family holiday at Craigellie. The cottage was spacious but cosy and had everything we needed. Our two children loved pottering around the garden, playing on the tree swing and spotting red squirrels. There's lots to do in the surrounding area, including the Den of Alyth just at the bottom of the driveway. Would recommend the cottage to all

Jen, August 2020

We had a wonderful time at Craigellie. It is a delightful cottage in a great location. The owners were very welcoming, helpful and friendly - brilliant!

Matt, August 2020

"Scotland is certainly a beautiful place and our hosts at Craigellie really made our stay exceed all our expectations"

We had a lovely week at Craigellie, Liz and Charlie were very welcoming and we had everything we needed and more in the cottage. Liz provided us with some jigsaws to complete on the rainy days and there was plenty of wildlife around the area to watch. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing break and would recommend Craigellie.

Audrey & Derek, July 2020

Craigellie is wonderful. The cottage is well equipped making it a comfortable place to stay. The surrounding countryside is easily explored from this base. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Liz and Charles. They put up a tree swing for our girls (7 and 10 years), let them visit the chickens and supplied marmalade and muffins which were well received. Our poodle had a lovely time there as well

Natalie, July 2020

A spotlessly clean, beautiful, well decorated annex which is owned by a lovely couple. The cottage was very eco friendly with top quality bedding, towels etc. Well equipped kitchen. The property is in a quiet yet accessible area with gorgeous walks right on it's doorstep.

JD, July 2020

IMG_2816.jpeg

What a fabulous gem of a cottage! After visiting Scottish self catering cottages at least twice a year for 25 years this is one of the very best. The cottage was immaculately clean with everything you could possibly need, top quality and more. Liz and Charlie were extremely welcoming and helpful (even before we arrived) to me, my daughter and Honey the dog and gave us some great tips and pointers of places to visit (not least of all the Den of Alyth right on the doorstep). Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Janet, March 2020

"After visiting Scottish self catering cottages at least twice a year for 25 years this is one of the very best."

​We had such an amazing time here. Right from the minute we arrived, Liz was lovely, she had the house nice and warm for our arrival, there were fresh eggs on the table from the free range chickens ... During our weekends we had a walk through the Den of Alyth with is very beautiful even in winter, we explored the village and then climbed to the summit of the hill of Alyth. I'm a wheelchair user and took my off road chair, the locals were all very encouraging when they saw us climbing the very steep very muddy hill!

Monday was our leaving day and we didn't want to leave ... We will be back in the future as we want to visit some castles and walk in the cairngorm. We all wish Liz the best of luck in her venture. Its a stunning home in a beautiful location with a brilliant host and she deserves to do well with it.

Anthony, January 2020

We stayed at Craigellie over the New Year period and had a wonderful time. The property is fantastic and very well equipped and furnished - absolutely no complaints (best we've found!).
Our hosts could not have been more friendly and were quick to ask if there was anything else they could do for us.
One of the reasons for choosing Craigellie was that it is dog friendly which is definitely the case and our old dog really enjoyed himself as well.
The location is is excellent with lovely walks on the door step and the town of Aylth itself being a very nice place to spend time in.
Overall we fully recommend Craigellie, all upside and no downside!

Jeremy, New Year 2019

IMG_6074.jpeg

It is amazing place. We've spent 4 days during Christmas. House was very clean and owners were friendly. It's good place for walking across the river and hills. Thanks again for this lovely home and people. And good luck with new visitors! Definitely we will come back :)

Yury, Christmas 2019

"Overall we fully recommend Craigellie, all upside and no downside!"

We had a fantastic break away before Christmas at Craigellie, Liz was a wonderful host. The house was lovely and very well looked after, really clean and had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend to friends and we'll hopefully get the chance to visit again someday

Clare, December 2019

A great place to spend a week or two enjoying both the house and the surrounding countryside. Liz and Charlie are fantastic hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. The house is beautifully decorated, spacious and well appointed and is located close to many wonderful places to visit. Really enjoyed our time at Craigellie, hope to visit again

David, October 2019

What a wonderful place to stay. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean throughout, a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom with everything a family would need on holiday, including the dog! Great touches, like slippers provided so that muddy boots from walks can be kept in the boot room. Lovely to arrive to homemade marmalade and freshly baked muffins. Very clear recycling advice which is important. Thanks to Liz and Charlie, the owners, who couldn’t be more helpful and go out of their way to ensure the perfect stay. 
The Den of Alyth is perfect for a lovely family walk and is just at the bottom of the drive, great for the dog too. We were a party of 6, 2 adults and 4 children and it was excellent for us. Highly recommended!

Elaine, October 2019

We were the first guests in the newly renovated Craigellie and it was great. Beautiful property, fantastically renovated, super comfortable, with every touch thought of. Kids loved the huge garden and grounds and couldn't get enough of tending the hens. Liz was a fantastic host.
Can't recommend Craigellie high enough

Andrew, October 2019

IMG_7602.HEIC

All the above reviews were gathered by Reevoo and posted on the Cottages.com website by our self-catering guests